No Art Critic Here

On FaceBook, this image was posted by a friend. I am no art critic. In the first few seconds I realized, as I’m sure I’m not the first, that the painting isn’t about the garden; it is about the path. Well-worn, well-used, it tells of tending and traveling, of enjoyment on a daily basis. It is a means of access to the unruly nature that can be a garden.

5 responses to “No Art Critic Here

  1. On our journey through this life we each walk many paths that take us through all kinds of terrain. Paths through and past gardens–some lush and meticulously maintained. Others dead or dieing of neglect, still others, overgrown, exuberantly full of life and mystery. For too many of us the garden paths are few and far between.

    Our paths take us through the vast wastelands of utter chaos, ruin, and loss. Too many of us become hopelessly lost.. We lose sight of the fact that the reality we experience is of our own choosing. We become so overwhelmed by the magnitude of our suffering that we can no longer see the beauty in life: though we stand in the middle of a rich and fertile garden, we see nothing but the cracks in the earth.

    While we cannot control all the events that happen to and around us, we can always control how we respond to those events. It all boils down to a choice. I’ve learned that even in my darkest hours–in my times of deepest despair, there is beauty all around me. As long as I can see the beauty in the world outside of myself, I can grow on. All it takes is a change in perspective.

    Last week you said that your first goal in organizing your life is to neglect nothing. I agree. Unfortunately, so much in my life has been long neglected so I’m playing catch-up big time. Fortunately, I’ve always loved pulling weeds and playing in the dirt!

    As I’ve worked I’ve discovered my second goal–to nourish everything–including me. Although my past has been filled with craters, and bogs and earthquakes of dire magnitude, I’m discovering that all that angst makes great fertilizer for my garden!

    • Yes, when you’re ready to let go of the past, it really does make great fertilizer!

      How interesting when a simple image evokes deeper responses. Art. Openness.

What say you?

