Anatomy of Animosity

Bathtub full of Daisies

Photo ©2012 Sandra Davidson

 

I went to take a bath when I woke and my dry towel fell in the water. I’m so lucky to have a husband who laughs and allows me to laugh when I might tend to growl.

I brought over the basket of dirty laundry to save from a wet floor and asked him to start the laundry because it wouldn’t interfere with my bath (as it certainly would have with a shower).

When I went in to the laundry room after dressing, the washer was off—and the clothes were dry. The washing machine hadn’t been started.

Here’s where some make the mistake, with other adults or children, of assuming the person didn’t do what they were asked. That crossed my mind for a fraction of a second; however, I know my husband.

I opened the fill drawer and, sure enough, there was soap in there. Instead I credited him and, in the way of assuming positive intention, guessed that he had set it up and forgot to press ‘go’, which is a three-part sequence on this washing machine.

This very assumption can cause deep and lasting  animosity between adults and children, and also between adults. Just that split second of grumble could have spun the day to the negative and even spread to a negative verbal encounter with my spouse.

You can’t take words back. Best to ask for clarification than make an accusation.
©2012 Sandra Davidson

One response to “Anatomy of Animosity

  1. I have to convey my admiration for your kindness in support of individuals who must have help with this particular issue. Your personal dedication to getting the solution all over ended up being surprisingly insightful and have regularly allowed somebody much like me to realize their ambitions. The important report entails a whole lot a person like me and extremely more to my office colleagues. Regards; from all of us.

What say you?

