Light and Upward Motion

Stand of White Birch Trees in Early Spring

Image: © Allison Trentelman | Please click image to visit the original image page.

The snow had melted to a burnished bronze soil seeping with the comforting scent of decay, the forest readying itself for imminent spring. The path was primarily evergreen fir trees, fallen branches and the most intimate fungi to catch the eye.

At a rise, I looked left into a stark stand of naked white birches glowing against the surrounding evergreens and revealed soil.

Stepping from the muted energy of an evergreen canopy into the downward rush of a much more open space is a sensation I treasure every time I think of Mount Hebo.

The clear view then, from the flat summit, is 360 degrees of bliss for my hermetic soul. South to, I’m told, Tillamook Bay; west into the Pacific Ocean’s indefinite horizon; north so far it feels tangible; and the mountain-blunted view east to the Cascade Range.

Eternity up close—having to sit down before falling into a winter-clear night sky of universe. Another message from The Great Divide and all its meaning.

2 responses to “Light and Upward Motion

  1. You know I love when you describe that beautiful area of yours. It’s almost like cranking up the google Earth and visiting places I can’t get to right now. The Pacific Northwest is always calling me.

    The birch reminds me of the aspen not to far from my own land outside of Colorado Springs. The ones that the wildfires have spared thus far. I fear I’ll never move to the area because of the wildfires. But we’ll see.

    Thank you for the trip.

What say you?

